Hi-Street Seal 'A' Title

The Hi-Street sealed the “A” League title on Friday night last in a gripping final against Dan Hourigan’s. After going behind in the first match, Dan’s rallied to take a 3-1 lead in the first to five contest. The Hi-Street edged the next to trail 3-2 at the break. After the interval, the hosts didn’t look back and won the next three singles to clinch the title, 5-3.

On the night, the league winners and runners up were presented with their trophies and medals. Players who had scored 180s during the year also received commemorative medals to mark the achievement. Finally, Eugene O’Neill (Hi-Street) was presented with the trophy for the Finish of the Year, an unequaled maximum 170.

The league comes to a conclusion this Friday night with the Diarmuid O’Brien Cup and the Player of the Year up for decision. The Player of the Year involves a straight head to head between Dan O’Halloran (Dans) and Seanie Francis O’Connor (Wanderers). Following its completion, the two players will do battle again, this time with their teammates in the Cup Final. The knockout competition is run every year to remember and honour a great Newmarket man and a great darts player, Diarmuid O’Brien. The finals get underway from 9:00pm in Scullys Bar.

A Final Result: Singles (4-2): John Corkery 2-0 Danny Hourigan; Jeremy Lynch 1-2 Andy Hourigan; Eugene O’Neill 0-2 Dan O’Halloran; Alan Ballantyne 2-0 Paddy O’Halloran; Cillian O’Connor 2-0 TJ Bodie; Tom O’Connor 2-0 Tim Hourigan. Doubles (1-1): John Corkery/Jeremy Lynch 0-2 Dan O’Halloran/Danny Hourigan; Cillian O’Connor/Eugene O’Neill 2-1 Andy Hourigan/TJ Bodie.

League High Finishes: Eugene O’Neill (Hi-Street), 170 (T20, T20, S50); John McAuliffe (Scullys), 143 (T20, T17, D16); TJ Bodie (Dans), 126 (S19, T19, S50); John Murphy (Wanderers), 121 (T17, T10, D20); Eugene O’Neill (Hi-Street), 103 (S7, T20, D18); TJ Bodie (Dans), 100 (T20, D20).

League 180s: Eugene O’Neill (Hi-Street); John Corkery (Hi-Street); Dan O’Halloran (Dans); Ger O’Sullivan (Wanderers); John McAuliffe (Scullys); Mike O’Shea (Scullys); Tadhg O’Keeffe (Rock Bar).